Brisbane, here I come!

It’s the 13th of July 2013 and I’m getting ready to catch my early flight after 3 amazing days in Hong Kong. As my first stop and arrival destination in Australia I chose Brisbane, Qld. Arrived to the airport earlier then usual and excited about the next 12 months I’m going to spend Down Under.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Got to the check in desk of Cathay Pacific Airline and after scanning my passport the desk lady is telling me, without a pardon, that the airline overbooked the flight and I will not be able to check- in and fly today. They did what??? I can’t get on a flight I booked months and months ago? Greedy b******, I thought and said I will fly to Brisbane today. Kes was already there waiting for me and this whole idea of not being able to get on the plane that I had my ticket for just seemed not right. Long story short, after talking to three other customer service representatives and a bunch of free coffee vouchers I got on board! Do not say NO to Ola when she goes to Wonderland!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

And 10 hours later after very pleasant flight I arrived in Brisbane. It took me about 1.5- 2 hours to get though the customs as in front of me there was a Chinese family with three hundreds of boxes and suitcases that had to be scanned. I was expecting something like cages full of hens and a goat really, but it turned out to be bunch of household items like toaster, cutlery and microwave. ย About 10 pm I got my second Aussie stamp in a passport and I was officially in Australia.

Brisbane did not surprise me much, I have been there before back in 2011 on short holiday and to me it’s just another city. Kinda boring. But for those who like quiet cities they would find it perfect for living, lots of green parks & gardens, good public transport connections and not too busy streets.

Accommodation: I stayed in Brisbane for nearly two week at Base Backpacker Hostel, in a 8 bed dorm, sharing space with funny French guy, curious Korean ex- soldier and a Swedish stripper. Now this is what you call a interesting mix of personalities. The room wasn’t flash at all, quilt and a pillow smelled of (probably tens if not hundreds) fellow travelers who slept in the same bed. That’s the reality of big hostel networks when all it matters is another backpacker spending $25 ย per night to sleep in slightly used bedding. We are all in the same trolley ๐Ÿ™‚ or under the same cover should I say?

To be continued…

 

 

About Ola in Wonderland

I'm polish living in Alice Springs, Australia. It's been a great blessing to me in so many ways that I will try to share my happiness of being in this wonderful place with you guys. I'm just Ola in Wonderland :)
This entry was posted in Adventures travel, Australia, Backpacking in Australia, Base Hostel, Brisbane, Living in Australia, Polish in Australia, Travel, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

